Tuesday, November 1, 2016

The A-Blazing Race Winners

The A-Blazing Race took place Friday, October 21 at the University of Memphis Herff College of Engineering as a part of E-Day. The goal of the race is to engage youth in grades six through twelve in the design and construction of model solar cars. MLGW provided a kit containing a solar panel, battery holder and motor to build their solar powered vehicle. The model cars compete in a race on a 20-meter course to determine which vehicle completes the course in the shortest possible time using available power.
There were two (2) divisions, grades six through eight and grades nine through twelve. Seventeen middle schools raced in the morning. President Collins presented the winner trophies in the morning and Alonzo Weaver made the afternoon presetnation.  The winners were as follows:


First Place Speed
Collierville Middle School
Team Name:STEM 1
Teachers: Shelley Pitts

Team Members: Jade Devine, Clayton Maxwell, Sidney Munier, Dylan Page and Lucas Spradley

2nd Place Speed
Maxine Smith STEAM Academy
Team Name: STEAM 2
Teacher Name: Tayahi Ilham
Team Members: Lily Roberts and Emily Roper

Third Place Speed
Maxine Smith STEAM Academy
Team Name: STEAM 3
Teacher Name: Tayahi Ilham
Team Members: Rebeka Duckett and Mattie Wild

First place Notebook/Design
Houston Middle School
Teacher: Michelle Powers
Team Name: Houston Middle Silver
Team Members: Vaidehi Bhatara, Pradnya Desurkar, Abdala Jabase, Ayaka Kimura, Yuka Kimura, Alex Li, Sakshaum Saksena and Will Steen

Eighteen high school teams raced in the afternoon. The winners are as follows:


First Place Speed
Memphis Business Academy High School
Teacher Name: Ju' Anuni Hines
Team Name: MBA Team 2
Team Members: Damarion Cox, Marisa Fitz-Wells, Symone Grose, Labrionna Page,Terrico Palmer and Teauna Riddick

Second Place Speed
Lausanne Collegiate
Teacher Name: Faune Brown
Team Name: Lausanne
Team Members: Zephyr Barlow, Will Hamic, Sam Hori, Jonathan Kagoo and Allison Kerr

Third Place Speed
Middle College High School
Teacher: Anna Fontanilla
Team Name: MCHS Team 2
Team Members: Christopher Cooper, Jaytonn Hunter, Kylin Lewis and Gregory Shaw

First Place Notebook/Design
Harding Academy
Teacher Name: Jane Morgan
Team Name" Move It or Loose It
Team Members: Jackson Gilreath, Noah Heaton, Josh Hinkle and Hunter Underwood

Approximately 30 MLGW employees volunteered with setup, registration, announcing and judging.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...